Seriously?

By MerrilHope

A step too far

Today I walked down the hill to catch the 15.00 bus to Taksim so I could walk the length of Istiklal Caddesi (about 2km) to Şişhane metro by Tünel, engaging in just a little retail therapy, but mostly people watching along the way.   It took about three hours with detours and a snack break. Hot and sunny, and very crowded - sensory overload from the sights, noise, smells wafting from restaurants and street vendors plus the physical exercise of negotiating literally thousands of people.  Not something I'd want to do frequently, especially in this heat, but every now and again, I find it emotionally energizing, (even if physically exhausting!!). Used the metro all the way back to Nispetiye and walked back to campus from there via the food court at Akmekez where I bought a take away salad to enjoy with a beer once finally home at around 20.30. My watch tells me I did just under 7km.  Felt like much, much more.

Today would have been my father's 94th birthday, so I raised a glass to him, as always, as my bro did the same in the UK.  Miss you Dad xxx. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.