David J. Rose

By djrose007

Jet Age and Oily Rag

Quite a full day today, but fun rather than work.
After lazing around this morning I rode off to the Jet Age Museum as I knew they were having a Classic Cars day.
I missed a few as some left at lunch-time'ish and I didn't get there until about 1pm. Still some lovely cars there, including a light blue Rolls Royce, a couple of Morris Minors/1000's, an Audi that isn't an Audi - it's a long story but it was from pre-Audi days as we know them but had the 4 circles logo, an MX-5 (younger than mine!) MGB-GT, and more. Lovely browsing around them and chatting to the owners.
I spoke to the current museum chairman who would welcome me returning as a volunteer, and I'm seriously thinking of it as not much is happening RBL Riders wise.
It's been a glorious day, just a little rain in the early morning, so from the museum I rode on to Oily Rag. It's a motorcycle clothing and accessories company, started by Henry Cole, who lives not far away in the Cotswolds. Apart from motorbike clothing, helmets, etc. they do a great cup of coffee. Their range is not cheap so I expect they make more on coffee and cakes than they do selling the bike stuff! I do have a few bits from them, 2 or 3 T shirts, a leather key holder that clips onto a belt, and a pair of expensive, but beautiful and comfortable, gloves.
It's a very popular venue and on weekends, and now some Fridays up to early evening, you will see bikes coming and going around the roads leading to Oily Rag.
I got back home around 3pm and Hendrix and Buddy turned up at 5pm for a sleepover. It's Daniel and Joanne's wedding anniversary but with 2 teenagers (16 & 18) and Buddy (4) and Hendrix (5) I think the sleepover of the younger ones is purely a chance to have an early night and grab some sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.