KateH

By KateH

Hayling

We had dinner with our friend Peter and his wife Charlie who have built a house from scratch on Hayling.  And I mean really built, Peter has worked on my houses for 20 years or so and is an excellent craftsman and his extended team have looked after us for all that time.  It occurs that I should have stood up and taken a picture of the house rather than of the view down their garden but I was becoming indolent.  We had a delicious bbq but had to eat indoors as it got very windy.  

I don’t know Hayling well but we used to go to the beach there as children and when the tide is out it is a fine beach but for a lot of time it’s a shingle bank.  Depressingly Langston Harbour which is the bit his house adjoins is too polluted to swim in now…

The rest of the day was spent in the garden, sowing foxglove seeds and planting out more things to fill gaps….the garden at least looks full and colourful at the moment if not exactly as if I’m in control! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.