pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Refill

It was the last few hours before I would see them again for almost a week, so I was keen to send the wee ones off in good humour.

We’d had a bit of a catch up with my parents beforehand and so we said our goodbyes with cuddles and kisses.

We could all see that as soon as EW2 opened the door something was up. M’boy was on it like a shot: “Oh no, not again.” At which point EW2 nodded and they all broke down in tears at the news that yesterday evening their remaining cat; Mouse, had been hit and killed by a car.

They were all understandably devastated and I held them tight before departing and wishing them a nice holiday despite how it was starting.

Returning home, I informed my parents of the crap news and then headed into town for some essentials and to clear my head.

The rest of the day was spent assisting with the replacement of a toilet cistern, some Mario Karting, a flippin’ amazin’ murgh massala curry and a 30-odd year overdue first time viewing of Natural Born Killers, which still stands up well to this day.

I was going to try and crowbar in some half-assed “glass half full or empty” metaphor, but let’s be honest it’s just a forgetful man in need of an emergency blip holding a glass, which - for the purposes of said metaphor - is refillable anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.