Another Day

By BlackTulip

Juvenile Red Kite

I was going to walk this morning, but the sky darkened and looked like rain, although it didn't actually pour down until this afternoon.

JJ went out to clear the lawn and came in to tell me a red kite had just flown over his head into the plane tree, narrowly missing the top of the 6' fences.

As we were just finishing lunch, it landed on the fence before dropping down onto next door's tiny birdbath, where it stayed for two hours before heading back home.  The feathers tell me it's a juvenile as it has yet to fully develop the pale grey head feathers.

When I was looking at the pictures I noticed it has an injury close to its right eye and was definitely a little lethargic.  I hope it's ok.  Do look at it in large view please.

I've added a couple of extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.