This is the day

By wrencottage

Little & Large

Sadly we weren’t able to watch our church service online this morning; there wasn’t anyone available to man the tech desk as most of the younger church members are away at New Wine United, a Christian holiday gathering which this year is being held in Maidstone over two separate weeks.

I’ve felt quite weary today, and haven’t achieved as much as I would have liked, but I did shorten a favourite skirt which is many years old and was therefore bought before I lost quite a bit of height. It’s now just the right length and I’ll be able to continue wearing it for much longer. 

The frenetic activity at the bird feeders and the bird bath continues unabated. I love watching the fledglings line up round the edge of the clay dish, heads bobbing up and down as they sip. On the other hand, the pigeon in the photo below was treating himself to a full ablution in there! After lifting one wing at a time and preening underneath each, he purposefully stepped into the bath, for all the world like someone in days of old entering a Roman spa, and made a meal of wiggling and splashing and then shaking the drops off. I’m not sure I would want to drink that water afterwards …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.