Sprout lover

By robharris35

Soothe

I’m having some back and forth with a donor on some project reporting issues that pre-date my time in the role. I’m doing as much as I can to clarify and wrap up loose ends, but it hasn’t worked yet. I’ve also got a lot of pressure from ‘the management’, and it feels like I can’t breathe without a new demand or request to go somewhere, present something, review or attend this or that. This feeling used to be exhilarating but my tolerance is reduced after going through burnout and it feels like I now get overwhelmed much more easily.

In the coming years I do want to reset and take time out to travel, returning either to something different or with a greater sense of balance and greater ability to manage stress. I don’t have a bad lot in life at all of course, but it often feels difficult to put the head above the parapet and see the positives when you are susceptible to stress. I understand why high flying execs retire then take jobs pushing trolleys in supermarkets. I am sure that supermarket work can be stressful, but the lure of a defined role that doesn’t come home with you is highly appealing.

Sunsets and rickety scaffolding always play their part to soothe stressful days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.