The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Friendly

There being a pre-season friendly up at Tynecastle against the mighty, newly relegated Leeds Utd, I thought I’d take myself along. I mean, it was only a fiver for an OAP. Lordy, I’d forgotten what a stodgy spectacle it can be. Leeds were clearly miles ahead of us and we could hardly string two passes together when we did, by some luck, gain possession of the ball. We did manage to give a better account of ourselves in the second half.* If we were any good, we could actually have scored a goal. If Leeds were any good, they could have scored five. 
Back home, I’ve been finalising a little feasibility study (a grand title for a collection of rambling thoughts and memories of discussions) and, having called the ex-commodoreharbourgruppenfuhrer for input, I have been receiving much assistance. Two days ago, he quite furiously said (of my proposal), "if they’re that lazy, these newcomers, in the club for 5 minutes, they can go to Burntisland." Today he signed off with, "It will be fine.” I should be in the diplomatic service. Get me Putin.



*Alan Forrest is no Barry McKay. Jorge Grant is no Josh Ginnelly. The boy Nieuwenhof is an improvement on Kio. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.