Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Little Tuscany

Our second day in Limburg for landscape photography started at 05.00 am, after a terrible night. I just couldn't sleep in my tent, in my too narrow sleeping bag, on my over inflated air matress.
Well, it is what it is. Solutions for that will come next night, I guess.

We started our tour in Valkenburg where we arrived around sunrise. A sunrise that wasn't what we'd hoped for. so we soon left Valkenburg again without a single photo. We started to look for a route called the Mergelland route. That would lead us to beautiful places. And it did! But it took a while before we found the first sign. Just about the time we were giving up, we found the sign. Soon after that we found a hotel that was open already for coffee and the most delicious Limburg apple/lemon pie (vlaai in Dutch) I've ever had.

The whole day was filled with photography. We walked a 3 km route around Epen, waited for the steam train called Miljoenenlijn near Eys. Unfortunately my camera jammed just when the train came by with nice steam clouds. What a pity!

In the evening (after a quick dinner in Gulpen) we found a beautiful spot near Eys, looking over what is called "Little Tuscany" with once again gorgeous light (after some very heavy rain!). We stayed quite a while looking over this lovely rolling hills.

Before I went into my tent I made some rearrangements to my bed. Softened my air matress and laying on a blanket from my car and with my sleeping zipped open over me, I slept within minutes after I lied down. 

Here's a link to my website with more photos from this trip.
And there's one in the extra with our base camp on it. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.