flavia13

By flavia13

GONE WITH THE WIND

I needed to go out today whilst the rain was only occasional and before tomorrow's Consultant's meeting for Hubby.  So I took G to Morecambe to to the Old Pier Bookshop.  

On arrival we wanted a coffee and there is a cafe nearby that I've never tried before called the Cafe of Eden.  It is actually a very pleasant cafe.  It's only been open a few months. It looks very clean and newly decorated.  The fare is things like paninis, sandwiches, toasted teacakes, some cakes and coffees, teas etc.  The cappuccino and teacake that I had was very nice and very pleasantly served.  I will use again.

The Old Pier Bookshop is packed so full of second-hand books - a lot of rubbish some good ones as well.  How he gets away with being able to  keep open is beyond me.  It is so higgeldy piggeldy with dangerous steps and loose floorboard, everything is just thrown in - but he does.  In someways though that is the charm of it too because you jut never know what you might find, especially if like me you are a book collector.  To be fair he does know his stuff and the rare collectable books are suitably priced as such so beyond my price range.  It looks as if everything is just thrown in but if you ask where certain things are he usually knows where to find them.  

I do always need to wash my paws very thoroughly after a visit and don't go in anything other than sturdy shoes and old clothes.

It was very blowy along the Prom so we just went over to the RNLI shop and I noticed a wind-surfer not far out so went to take several photos.  I also noted that there were two RNLI members stood outside the RNLI hut watching proceedings, presumably all organised.  I took several photos (see extras).  He fell in once and I initially put the camera on zoom to make sure he wasn't struggling and needed help.  He didn't he soon got back up on his board again - so I carried on clicking.

After that we then went to the Cafe at Carnforth Station - home of the film Brief Encounter and had another quick look around the heritage centre.  We didn't spent long as I've been before and nothing much has changed but it is still very interesting.

Now ack home and gearing up to the Consultant's appointment tomorrow.  Will explain all at some point.

Do take care and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.