There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Swimming Area at Greenwood Furnace

It was a day that included errands in town, and shopping, and washing one of the cars, and finally, heading over to Greenwood Furnace with my husband for a late afternoon swim, to be topped off by dinner at Couch's of McAlevy's Fort: meatloaf and curly fries for him, an American hoagie for me, plus a perusal of all of the Amish romances in the book swap.*

I'd say we covered a lot of the bases, and when we got to the park, I had my shampoo and personal soap from home with me, so that I could do everything right this time. Last time, if you'll recall, I did not have those niceties and I had to shampoo with liquid soap from the park restroom (not optimal, but functional).

So I was feeling pretty spiffy about it all, and I was looking forward to a chilly swim, followed by a nice shower and clean hair. I wandered on over to the spillway and took a few pictures and videos there. The water is still plentiful and watching the water come dancing down over the spillway is a hypnotic show, indeed.

And there was even more to see than I expected. When I got there, I noted a couple below the spillway smoking a joint. I saw them; they did not see me. I stopped where I was, turned around, took a few steps back, and intentionally walked up the hill facing the opposite direction, snapping photos as I went, to give them a chance to see me coming, and finish up. 

Clearly, even to my uninformed eye, it was all happening for medical reasons, which is legal here, and absolutely NONE of my business. When I turned around, everything was copacetic and they were moving on. Above is a photo I took while I was putting in time.

I've learned a few things as a child, and even more things as an adult. It was standard practice in our home for my mom to tell us to MYOB, which is to say: Mind Your Own Business. This is a critical lesson for a person growing up in a tiny little house with seven other people in very close quarters. ("But, MOM! I WAS MY'ing my OB!") 

Since I've retired, I have also become a big fan of this particular phrase: "I'm not in charge of that!" Or to quote Kacey Musgraves, Mind your own biscuits, and life will be gravy!

Our soundtrack song is Kacey Musgraves, with Biscuits.

*Okay, so I have to admit it: I DID come home with ONE Amish romance. It's Her Pretend Amish Boyfriend, by Rachel Good. Is he her pretend boyfriend? Is he pretend Amish? Is SHE pretend Amish? Inquiring minds want to know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.