WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Holyhead

This morning felt chilly so, unbelievably, I put on my autumn thicker, long sleeve top and leg warmers. 

I headed south to do a loop of Holyhead. I enjoyed crossing over to the island and once I reached South Stack, that coastline was really appealing. I had a coffee shop lined up for today and it didn’t disappoint. Before I set off from there, I took off my legwarmers in the sunshine and enjoyed the last 10 miles home.

The owner of the campsite came over for a chat. He was mowing the site (leaving lovely long patches of grass and wildflowers). He told me he’d moved here from Manchester, a couple of years ago, with a view to getting more time to start his cycling. He was a hard-core downhill racer but hadn’t found the time yet!

Quick shower, bite to eat, and I’m off to try and avoid a sweeping band of rain coming in tomorrow. 

The journey there took me through Snowdonia and a trip down memory lane from rock climbing to the Welsh 3000ers, hut meets with friends to rain, rain and more rain - and a twisted ankle. I spotted the Idwal Slabs and was glad to be on firm ground, being fine on the rock but never happy descending.

I don’t remember it ever looking this beautiful but then, we did have a lot of rain and today it was sunlit and stunning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.