Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I arrived at the Mind shop at about 9.30am,  and was happy that Sam was on the till because I was on a mission. I wanted to find books on space and the planets for my 7 year old autistic grandson, a new interest for him as he's previously been very into trains.

At first I couldn't find anything at all, but then started to go through the bags and trays of children's books in the "book room", a narrow passage leading to the back door. While searching, it seemed only sensible to restock the shelves in the children's area of the shop, so I affixed price stickers to millions tens, maybe a hundred books, during which I snaffled three for Josh, one for Thomas and two for me. Hurrah! 

I got home at about 2.30pm and did some work in the garden, digging up and potting the stray raspberry suckers - I'm thinking ahead to my future allotment here, and also potting up lots of verbena seedlings. A mountaineering club member has fingers in wild flower areas relating to his job... not sure exactly what that is... but he'd asked me to look after any seedlings I had and he'd take them in the autumn. Honestly, I've got zillions of verbena seedlings, more than enough for me, him and anyone else!

An early dinner, cauliflower, chickpea and kidney bean curry, with added cashews, served with brocoli, yoghurt and coriander.  Nice!

The Tuesday evening walk with my Ramblers was from Dale Abbey, a walk I've done before, varied and with some gorgeous golden light. A full day!

4.07 miles 
386 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.