WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Gospel Pass

This area is beautiful! Even in the mixed weather, it’s a joy to cycle in. 

My feet were becoming quite damp by the time I’d reached the highest road pass in Wales but I didn’t care. It was very atmospheric and I could see enough to enjoy the scenery and low drifting cloud. Just as I paused on the other side for a photo, the heavy drizzle suddenly stopped which was great news for a photo or two on the way down, particularly when I spotted these mountain ponies with an inquisitive foal.

It was chilly descending and, I realised, lucky, once I arrived at a big landslide which was closing the road from Monday for fourteen weeks!

The tight and narrow windy lanes weren’t conducive to picking up speed and I did meet a few considerate farmers on the way round. By the time I’d reached the other end of the valley, and my turning point for home, I’d warmed up. That just left me to enjoy a meandering incline and more wonderful scenery before dropping back down into Hay on Wye.

I found the most delightful campsite near Builth Wells so I’ve booked an extra night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.