Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Down by the Creek

(Except you can't see the Creek! We are in a car park adjacent to the waterway, enjoying fresh coconut milk in the new hire car.)

So, after a night where neither of us got much sleep, pondering over things, I'm surprised at how well I coped with the day. It was busy - at work as well as at "home".

I got to chat with my ex-line manager about my visa application rejection. We talked about some issues like, why am I still a contract worker?

It was good to have an introductory lunch with the new interns - their numbers have steadily grown since June. We are now up to six! I have to say - they are very pleasant, but then they are also very new!!

I worked from home after lunch, wanting to get to the VFS centre to retrieve my passport. G came with me. Asking the staff there what further action I could take didn't shed any new light. Everything is done online via a UK government website. I need to find a few hours to do that.

We collected G's Emirates ID card before coming home for dinner, only to head out again, this time to the SA meeting. The colleague at work whose last day was Monday, had given me a guitar to find a new home for. Juneefer - our most talented musician (she plays the violin and other instruments and is a music teacher), said she needed a guitar, so having a break tonight from being the musicians meant we could carry the guitar as well as a violin that G had bought, to hand over to their new owners. We need many more incidents like this where things leave the flat for new homes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.