Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Just the job!

Well Josie slept well, a single squeak at 6.15, then back to sleep till almost 7.30. I woke up to the sound of her singing Old Macdonald coming through the baby monitor.
I quickly got myself dressed - having learned through experience that if you don't get dressed before you get her up it's very hard to find an opportunity! Up she got, happy as Larry and we had breakfast. By 8. 30 we were on our way to nursery, in she went, and I was off duty.
I had bought myself an Almond croissant yesterday to have as a treat this morning. Sadly when I went to look for it I discovered I must have left it in the shop. (I decided later to buy another and this time made sure to bring it home so I'll have it for tomorrow morning). I had to go to Linlithgow so, lacking anything else pressing to do, Colin and I decided to treat ourselves to lunch at Manderstons. On the way in I spotted these strawberry tarts, made this morning on the premises. Before we were even shown to our table two of them were packaged up and in our car ready for dessert this evening. I would have made a thumbnail but thought they were worth a full view
The rest of the afternoon passed quickly. At 5.15 I drove over, with some trepidation, to pick up Josie. I was sure she was going to be disappointed not to see mummy and daddy again today, but she didn't turn a hair. She came home, ate her dinner, decided she wanted a bath again and then after dinner stories, settled into bed. What a happy little girl. After she went to bed, those strawberry tarts lived up to expectations!
Tomorrow I will take Josie to nursery and her parents will pick her up afterwards. Our grandparenting responsibilities, this time, over.
My extra today is the gift I was presented with at the nursery door. Mum wants to keep it for posterity....... She may change her mind, a photo will preserve the memory and last longer I think!
Jon and Eilidh survived their camping trip and her 1st Munro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.