Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Trapped

On what would have been my Mum’s 89th birthday I took myself off to a local garden centre for a sneaky afternoon coffee and cake.  When Mum was alive, and still relatively mobile, this used to be a favourite trip out for her. I recall some years ago we were at this particular location when the heavens opened trapping us under one of the umbrellas with the cafe staff looking on from the dry and safety of the building beckoning us inside. However, it was some while before the rain eased enough to allow Mum time to get into the dry.  

At that time the roof was leaking badly and I think many of the electrics had failed. Today, the heavens once again opened but this time I was nice and dry inside, the electrics were fine and the leaks have gone following major refurbishment.  I think this was done after Mum’s last visit, but she would have been impressed and no doubt a plant or two would have found their way into the boot of my car (as indeed one did today!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.