Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Duns Castle

This is my neighbourhood castle. Part of it is said to date back to 1320, but I think what you can see here was probably built in the early nineteenth century. Here's a link to what Wikipedia has to say about it.

I blipped this on a walk round a man-made loch called Hen Poo although no one seems to know how it got its name. It was used as a curling pond back in the days when water froze over reliably enough. It's now a nature reserve although you can't really see the loch along one side as it's wooded and there were a lot of reeds all round the loch. However, I did manage to see a pair of swans with eight cygnets. Although they are officially off limits, I went through the castle grounds to make it a circular walk and no one stopped me. The weather was good with a fair amount of sun. From the forecast it looked as if this was going to be the best day of the week. Earlier I had had breakfast outside, always a mark of a good holiday for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.