Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Oranges

I did not want to get up this morning.
But Spike came in
licking my nose, and staring fixedly at my face
with his sightless, yet still expressive eyes.
I got up
 
I didn't want to get dressed this morning.
But I read about Trump's third indictment...the gravest yet 
for a conspiracy to defraud the United States
Before I had to read that his poll numbers had gone up as a result
I put the paper down 
and got got dressed.

I didn't want to take the dogs for a walk today
But one of the tree trimmers admired them as we walked by
and wanted to know Spike's story.
He told us Spike was blessed to have us.
We said we were blessed to have him.
As we walked on he told us to
have a blessed day.

By the time all that blessing was over
It was lunch time but
I wasn't very hungry
and didn't want leftovers again
So I had some yogurt
The  lazy person's lunch. With fruit...
it's pretty healthy.

I didn't want to paint.
I couldn't draw because I gave my pencils away.
I couldn't revive my knitting 
because I couldn't find the pattern
Abandoned months ago.
I'm sure it's around here somewhere....

There was a peregrine falcon 
sitting on a bird feeder.
And some hummingbirds bickering over
the grevillea blossoms.
The plants in pots 
are looking a bit stressed but
It's still pleasant outside.
Until Sunday.

Mood improving, after sitting outside
with a second coffee
I mopped the kitchen floor
Sticky from the weeks' festivities.
And cleaned the microwave
redolent of reheated burritos
and forgotten bacon grease

Now that I have photographed them
I think I'll go have
an orange
and then a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.