gennepher

By gennepher

Acorn

Nighttime Wildlife Cameras.
Ma and Pa Badger have a tender moment - watched by Midnight
38 seconds
https://youtu.be/pywGd6nT7co

Creative is a straight photo today.
My oak tree finally has acorns!
About 20 years ago when I dug up the front lawn (I do not mow grass, ever) to plant some low shrubs, all now high shrubs and trees, I discovered several sawn massive tree trunks below ground level. They were oak trees. Then I found more sawn down oak trees on my property, all hidden below ground level. That made me sad that it appeared that the builder of this estate in the 70's had possibly cut down all these venerable oak trees just to make money. Or they could have been cut down years before, for the shipbuilding industry.

I left most of them below ground level. But 3 sawn off massive oak tree trunks, I exposed to the daylight and air. I did not think it was possible after being sawn off below ground, that they could grow again. But I like to believe the impossible. Over time some small shoots grew from all the 3 tree trunks. And over the years I found the 3 oak trees had oak galls, which is home of the oak gall wasp. This year however, there is not one oak gall on my 3 oak trees. BUT I HAVE ACORNS!!!

Creative this morning is a photograph of an acorn, still green. And what is amazing to me, is that the little fairy acorn cup looks as if it has been crocheted in fine cream wool. I have never seen an acorn in this earlier stage of development (well you wouldn't, they would normally be high up in the oak tree, unseen). I didn't know nature could crochet!

Have the best day you can.

I need to get going...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.