Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Rather than stick with a walk around here, I decided to go to Risley and do a walk I've previously only done with my Ramblers group. It's one of Paul's walks.

A great walk with very varied scenery and ground. I saw numerous butterflies, a squirrel, a wren and three buzzards, and also some late poppies in a field of wheat, plenty of common chicory and one group of great mullein. Very few people though! 

Near the end the path went through several fields of barley and there were peas flowering and cropping close to the path. Since the crop was not peas, I picked enough of them to feed about six people!

I was tired by the time I got back to the car, but I feel like I've done something! Just as well because tomorrow's 20+ miler is off as far as I'm concerned because the forecast is for torrential all day. No thankyou!

9.53 miles
638 ft elevation gain 

Extra is of the great mullein and those peas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.