Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Killer Queen

Dropping from the pole she hit the grasses onto the vole hole and again she came up wanting. This female kestrel is working her socks off trying to feed but she is been harassed by seagulls and crows and finally inadvertently by me. 

I chose this shot today out of a few hundred for a few reasons: not because it was the best shot of a kestrel but it was an unusual one to actually get it in the grasses before the final count down. I thought it showed her in her habitat, where she hunts and how she hunts. I liked the grass bokeh around her and that she actually wasn't on a wire which is where you generally see them. I was also a bit chuffed if I'm honest that the grass seed head didn't go across her eye fortuitously!!! Just shown the shot to Hubs and he said that it was good the grass seed head didn't go across her eye! There was no prompting there at all and quite an observation from Hubs who is suffering very badly from a virus cold thingy. I need to make next week count if I get two days back to back with fine weather and I don't want the VCT so avoiding him like the plague. Hands in prayer here with all windows open to blow it through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.