Arachne

By Arachne

WOMAD 4

Oh joy - Puuluup!

Ramo Teder and Marko Veisson from Estonia use a looper with the talharpa - a bowed or plucked rectangular 'bone lyre' on which the notes are made by stopping the four strings with either the front of the back of the fingers. They make zany, fun sounds and have the dryest sense of humour to get everyone laughing and dancing. Secondborn and I both loved it from the start and I wormed my way backstage to take absurd numbers of photos. As soon as we met up afterwards we agreed we were definitely going to their dance workshop this evening.

We also enjoyed Sahra Halgan from Somaliland and Paprika from Serbia. We had very different reactions to Nihiloxica - drummers from Uganda. She danced, I was transfixed by something I have never before heard in music with minimal words - a very powerful demand for justice and end to oppression. I have no idea how they did that to me - or whether it was just me doing it to myself.

More anti-oppression from Souad Massi (Algerian exiled in France) who has a fabulous voice but who didn't transport me as much as she did at WOMAD ten years ago.

There's been some heavy rain today and the mud we've just about managed for the last couple of days is now everywhere.

Extras: Puuluup, Nihiloxica x 2, tent roof, rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.