CrocusMan

By TonyG

Gentiana Septemfida

Another day mostly spent at the windmill with C & I, another striking gentian from their garden.  This one is quite widely available from garden centres.   Although a hybrid with another species has become the most commonly seen plant in commerce, I think the true species is the more beautiful.

Jamie was finally moved on from A&E to a medical bed this evening and remains in Shrewsbury.  I think everyone, ourselves included expected that his Cough-Variant Asthma would quickly be brought under control in hospital, without the need for an admission but it has proved very stubborn.  Now hoping for a good night's sleep if the cough relents a bit which will be good medicine in itself.  

I spent the morning weeding in a new area of the big garden which is being cleared before planting.  A good distraction.  The dogs enjoyed the chance to run free and explore and I spotted a kingfisher on a branch over the stream that forms one boundary of the garden.  Having travelled super-light, not expecting to stop anywhere interesting, I didn't have the big camera with it's zoom lens .... but the gentian is also a beautiful blue :-)

I am home - for tonight at least.   Now he's on ward Jamie's discharge from hospital is unlikely to be as precipitate as that from A&E and there are multiple calls on my time here too.   Another trip to Shrewsbury is inevitable and ironically I am due to help C & I with a stand at Shrewsbury Flower Show next Friday so collecting Jamie won't be my last trip over those roads in the week ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.