earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Rain, rain, and more rain

A shot to sum up July, although we're now in August, and the rain continues.

Life has got overtaken by stuff, yet again, and I find myself posting this late, on Friday the 4th, thinking about the rain forecast for tomorrow. Forrest and I are off to the Lakes to run the Borrowdale Fell Race, what will be my last round and his first. I'm handing over the baton. It's not going to be the weather we hoped for, but somehow it would be appropriate to finish, as I started, about 35 years ago, with hostile conditions. Borrowdale was my very first fell race and was something of a baptism by fire. The weather was so bad, the winds so strong, that I couldn't believe - as a soft southerner - that the race was going ahead. I was very proud to finish and it started a love affair with this event, not the longest but possibly the toughest race, per mile, on the calendar. It takes in Scafell Pike, Great Gable and Dale Head. I thought I'd finished with it years ago but Forrest's enthusiasm has brought me out of retirement.

About to get an early night, I still don't really understand why I find myself looking forward to it so much. It's strange. I'll report back, hopefully having found an answer to that question!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.