Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Grass Yellow

Identification - blanda snelleni - 3 spot grass yellow.

There are always plenty of yellows flitting about, but they are not so easy to photograph as they tend to be a bit skittish and always at the wrong angle or just out of reach. Add to this, exposure problems and the result is; not one of my favorite subjects.

Having captured a good view with a decent exposure, now comes the problem of identifying the little gem. There are about half a dozen varieties and they all look the same to the untrained eye.

This one is called the 3 spot, referring to the three marks on the front wing, just behind the head, the larger squiggle half way along the wing does not count. I have images almost identical but with only two marks - yes, you guessed it - the 2 spot. There is a one spot but I haven't found that one yet.

I also have a lemon emigrant, but there are plenty more that I haven't found yet. I will just keep clicking on them when the opportunities arise in the hope of expanding my collection.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.