A day in the life

By Shelling

Way home

The day has been long and eventful, on my way homewards on the train I was in a cloud of thinking about my family and the people I've met this afternoon. 

This was the third family reunion I've been to since 2001, when we had the first one, our group is ever diminishing, sad but natural, we are all in our sixties, seventies and even eighties. Only fifteen showed up for this one, three couldn't make it. 
Some of them live close to each other outside Lund and see each other regularly but I'm the distant one and, to be honest, distant in relation as well since my father was born outside the marriage and I'm the last on that branch. In my small family of three we were never close to "the others" and we never met as a whole group. My parents spent time with perhaps four different families but not very often, so I never got to know my cousins very well. 
It's so nice to get to know them a little and I guess this small group of people will keep contact with each other one way or another. None of their children are interested in coming along to the meetings so tradition might die with us. Tragic in a way but the times they are a changing and I know many families who goes through the same trend. 

I took the train from Kalmar at nine this morning and just came home from Lund, threehundred kilometres south of here, by eleven thirty tonight with my head full of impressions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.