Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Perfect summer's night

Migraine over, up early for Aikido (Bella and I observed while Evan worked out). Next, Beaverton Saturday market, where I succeeded in parallel-parking the gargantuan vehicle and where I learned that I'm out of touch with the real world.

Evan wanted a hotdog, which I thought was perfectly reasonable until I paid for it. TWELVE DOLLARS. Is that what hotdogs cost these days?  Bella found some vegan spinach croquettes for only $8, and I bought a pound of green beans for $8 and some corn and tomatoes for $20. Staggering from shock at the prices, I drove the gargantuan vehicle back to their house, where we played rousing games of Exploding Kittens and What Do You Meme?  

They each packed their bags. They leave Monday for Las Vegas with their mom, to enjoy time with their other grandparents while she works. While they were packing, I cooked dinner (all those expensive vegetables and some spaghetti). They played frisbee with Felix while I cleaned up the kitchen, and finally we enjoyed a bowl of watermelon cubes Cristina had prepared before she left. She really is a mother like none other I have ever known, and these children have no idea what rare and extraordinary lives they lead. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.