Number147

By Number147

Sunday

Young Betty Colston, only daughter of Lord and Lady Roundway, fell from a window of their London home in 1924. She died as result, aged just 14.

We deviated around Devizes cemetery on our walk today. As you get older, you know more and more of the names on headstones.

The last time I stood alongside Pina's grave, I comforted her sobbing granddaughter, Gabriela. Now next to Pina, lies Sally Emery, killed in a road accident. Sally's children were at St Joe's with Henry.

Then there's the row of babies. I knew 4. Little Harriet's parents have moved away now. The flowers are dead. I wonder who put them there. And there's stillborn David Haddrell. I went to his funeral. The heartbreak of seeing Graham carrying his small white coffin down the aisle of St Peter's. I was pregnant with Florence and didn't want to tell David's parents.

Also, my sister's ex boyfriend. She broke his heart and he never married.

It is truly a beautiful place and gave us pause for thought.

Our walk continued up Quakers Walk and home, in the rain, down the canal.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.