CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Rain doesn’t dampen spirits at Stroud Steampunk'

Just before the Shambles Indoor Market closed today I was stock checking my stall. A uniquely well-dressed couple  entered and started to looking around the indoor hall. I realised they were participants at the Steampunk gathering in the nearby Lansdown Hall, only fifty yards away across the church graveyard.

Having not taken any pictures today, mostly because of the torrential rain that had been falling all morning, I picked up my little camera and decided to request a picture.

These first two visitors engaged in conversation with a fellow stall holder, who was selling secondhand clothes. Then another elaborately dressed and tall woman appeared through the doorway, so I went across to her and asked if I could take a photo of her. She kindly agreed, and just then the other two people, who were also from Birmingham, joined her and they started explaining what steampunk means to them.

As we talked this gentleman who I've blipped walked through the door. When I asked if I could also take his picture he stood proudly on the doorsteps and posed for my quick snap. I’ve also posted an ‘Extra’ of my first image of the woman.

I must admit I find the concept of steampunk hard to appreciate and it doesn’t have much relevance to me. But I was impressed with their enthusiasm, and the care and attention to detail expressed in their hobby. There was a great sense of fun between these four friends who said they were really enjoying their two days of dressing up for their visit to Stroud. I wish them well.
 
Stroud Times has now reported 'Rain doesn’t dampen spirits at Stroud Steampunk', with several pictures from the event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.