CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A gull perches briefly on the electricity pole

Another dull day with showers and clouds. This gull was one of several wheeling over the back gardens of our street. They have become regular visitors if not residents in the local area in recent years. There is probably more food in towns than on the foreshores of the sea.

I previously watched a buzzard rising up in circles from the valley bottom beyond this scene, and then saw another buzzard several hundred feet higher, circling on rising air.

The hill on the far side of the main valley where these houses are is a small hamlet called Butterow. I have to stretch outside my office window and twist to my right to point a telephoto across the valley. Sometimes I can watch a heron standing on this same pole. Competition is fierce for the higher ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.