Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

A fabulous walk with Ramblers, I really enjoyed it, and look at that sky! 

We started from Winster and climbed up to The Nine Ladies on Stanton Moor for our coffee stop, the main is of the moor as we started walking again. Down to Rowsley for lunch and then along the River Derwent, including where the Wye joins it. See the extra for some of the colourfully marked trees along the river, marked for felling I suppose. 

The last section involved a long, steep climb along a lane. We got to a corner and I stupidly assumed that was the end of the up... but oh no, it was just the beginning. But I enjoyed the exertion and feel as though I'm rediscovering that enjoyment, bizarre though it sounds.

The only reason I was walking today was because no-one was climbing, but I'm so glad! I even went to the pub afterwards, not something I usually do, and tried a Heineken alcohol free beer which was very acceptable. Crackin' day!

11.16 miles
1,278 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.