Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Common Blue

Whilst admiring the puffins at the Castle o' Burrian I noticed these Common Blues engaged in their own activities, lovely against the spent thrift. 

I really enjoyed watching the puffins relieving each other of domestic duties, even indulging in a bit of billing and cooing. My only concern was that the incoming parent never had a beak full of food.  Is this the point at which they're telling the puffling that it's time to get out of the hole and into the real world? I'd be glad if someone could enlighten me!

I was also mighty glad that the knee was factors less painful than yesterday and I could get to the puffins without too much puffing of my own. 

We inadvertently copied blipper Tweedy's excursion from yesterday, dropping down to the Bay of Tafts for Berry's enjoyment of sand catching (extra) and to marvel at the vast expanse of pristine sand.  We met a couple who'd been in the sea and claimed it was warm (I checked to see if their fingers were crossed; they weren't, but they had a very Orcadian numberplate on their vehicle so I suspect 'warmth' is a relative thing!).

Back to a good lunch at the Pierowall Hotel and then a relaxing afternoon at Grobust again.  A bit of sewing, a bit of reading. 

Packed ferry back to Kirkwall. We had slight misgivings watching the crew eyeing up the traffic in the waiting queue but I assume they were just assessing how to get us all on in an orderly fashion. 

Back home now to a very warm house (the Aga really heats the place up when I'm not on hand to ventilate) and a packed diary for next week. Our short break is already a dream. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.