SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Drying

After a good night's sleep in a West End hotel, and a filling breakfast, I was back volunteering at the BMX Park competition area. Before we'd removed the overnight dew, the rain came on heavily enough to soak the area. After an hour spent drying it out, riders were warming up when there was another heavy shower! Cue another hour with squeegees and towels. There still weren't enough squeegees, and this time I only had a towel, but I took on the challenge of drying the highest part of the area: fun!

My shift ended just before the final of the men's competition, but I stayed to watch, having come to recognise some of the riders and coaches. My "friend" Kevin crashed on both of his runs, but still got a huge cheer. I saw Kieran Reilly's great run, but left when the rain came on with just two more runs to go, as I knew there'd be at least an hour to wait. On the train back, I watched the Olympic champion and last year's world champion just fail to beat Reilly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.