suehutton

By suehutton

The Shepshed Snake

Basil and I travelled with Cecily to Glenmore Park this afternoon. We looked for the Shepshed Snake, a memorial of painted stones laid out in a line along Jubilee Walk during the Pandemic. 

Someone had the bright idea of picking up the stones to create this memorial in Glenmore Park. If you look at my post linked above, you will realise that the current snake is nowhere near as impressive as the original. Plus at least fifteen stones have been gouged out. I picked up three that had been left behind at the railway line path and was told the council didn't want anymore,

The snake winds round a tree on a bed of artificial grass. The head is still there but the paint is fading under the influence of the weather. Basil and I came across the snake by accident. So much for acknowledging the efforts of all those children. I think Thorpe Acre made a better effort.

it's cold enough for me to be still wearing my hoodie over my t-shirt and jumper. Socks and cord trousers are essential. The weather men say we might have a taste of summer on Wednesday and Thursday. I hope it lasts at least until Friday as we're taking William out. I'd like to take Edward too but have to admit I'd have a real problem changing a nappy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.