Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Discovery

We had to clear the last few boxes out of the loft today, ahead of the solar panel installers arriving on Wednesday.  

One of the boxes contained lots of my parents' photos varying from sepia captures of folks we have no idea about, except I think that baby sitting on the farm cart is my much loved Grandad Joe, to photos of all the children and grandchildren at various ages.  I had a few teary moments when I found amongst them a little sketch of Loch Morlich, done by my Mum as she relaxed on the beach there after we had walked around Loch an Eilein.  It was something of an unusual family summer holiday as brother Bob was with Tony and Mum and me.  We weren't to know that Mum was developing oesophageal cancer and we would lose her the following October.  I had thought that Mum and Dad's wedding album was lost but amongst all of the other photos were the ones of her wedding so I can only think that the album disintegrated.  A winter project will be to scan them in and maybe make a book of them for our girls.

I had to include the holiday photo of Dad and I standing in one of his beach engineering projects as, in Scotland last week I revived one of his games which was to make a spade trail in the sand with periodic instructions to jump, hop, walk like a crab etc.  Inevitably, children would be attracted to play from across the beach.  Euan and CJ's children certainly enjoyed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.