Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Getting In Early

At least I think it is getting in as the cornflower is beginning to emerge and not at its last gasp.  Strictly speaking, these pretty cornflowers in three shades are not resident in the mini meadow but overhanging it.  I attempted to seed the meadow with them earlier in the year and then I planted the ones Tony brought on in the greenhouse.  The first did not appear and the plants were immediately eaten, so these I planted in a pot which is hanging over the meadow in the hope that some seeds may take root for next year.  They do add a vibrant splash of colour and I love them, as do the bugs.

I've had an in and out of the house day as we were expecting the scaffold to go up in preparation for the solar panel installers tomorrow.  Guess what, no show by the scaffolders so I am now waiting to hear if they will appear at the crack of dawn in the morning.  A neighbour is having work done on their roof further down the terrace and I've watched as stone slates were piled up across the access and then a skip arrived.  As we are three floors at the back of the houses, it was quite scary watching their builders go up two sets of ladders with the heavy slates on their shoulders. There was something of a peeing competition going on with much joshing of the guy who had to rest, unfair I thought.

Meanwhile I have my phone with me, waiting to hear about tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.