mcgoobs

By mcgoobs

This one's for you Becky and Vaish...

Went on a lovely trip around Corfu today AND FORGOT MY BLOODY CAMERA :( so so so gutted. I didn't know what to do with myself!

We took a coach and stopped to look out over the lagoon in Corfu Town, at a kumquat factory and alcohol distillery where we tried two types of kumquat liqueur and in Paleokastritsa where there are two beautiful beaches that come together in the shape of a heart. After lunch in a little café we went on a small boat ride to look at some caves and at the coast from the water. Then it was up the hillside to a Greek Orthodox monastery dedicated to the Virgin Mary. After that, we went even higher to a café called Bella Vista from which you can look down on the monastery and heart shaped beaches. More travelling until we reached Achilleion's Palace which was owned by Queen Cici of Hungary (who also owned Schonbruun Palace in Vienna which Maddie and I saw when we went there). The views were spectacular all day and it was nice to see some more of the island and actually make it onto one of the excursions - third time lucky, no thanks to bad weather and forgetful drivers!

It's me that's been the disorganised one today, so instead of a trip picture here is a picture of the cicada that I have finally captured and released after days of it playing hide and seek in my room, keeping me awake with its noisiness!

Moving to St George tomorrow and my first welcome meetings are on Saturday so things are well and truly kicking off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.