Flossmo

By Flossmo

Frustrating

It was a frustrating  day. Mr Flossmo and I were up and out bright and early to take our birth certificates to the Farnham Post Office to get certified copies made so that I can submit the application for my pension. We waited patiently in a long line - there was just one person behind the counter.  After about ten minutes we were called only to be told that the Post Office doesn't certify birth and marriage certificates. On further investigation back at home, it seems that strictly, it is illegal to photocopy such documents and therefore also illegal to certify them as true copies of the originals, this despite the fact that that is what I am being asked to do by my pension company. I will send the originals by recorded delivery and keep my fingers crossed. That took up much of the morning.

After lunch I drove over to Woking for a volunteering meeting. The meeting went well and I thought things were looking up until I decided to call in at Hobbycraft on the way home. It took an age to get from Woking to Farnborough; there were four sets of roadworks on the route, each with three-way traffic lights. At one set there was an 'attendant' whose sole job seemed to be to tell the queued cars that the wait would be around four minutes. By the time I was back home much of the afternoon had gone.

By 6:30 I was on a Zoom volunteering interview call. It's always interesting to meet new people but I was quite jaded by the end of it. I was grateful for the dinner which Mr Flossmo had put in the oven. Just as I was settling down to some TV a friend called for a catch up. It was nice to talk but that consumed another hour. By the time we watched University Challenge on catch up  my brain had ceased to function; the youngsters beat us by a long mile.  

There was a recent article in the paper describing the stress-relieving properties of pets so I insisted mine came and gave me a stress-relieving cuddle. She wasn't entirely enthusiastic!  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.