flavia13

By flavia13

LANCASTER

A lovely day today.  Somewhat warm but not too warm and so lovely to see some sunshine. 

Hubby and I had to take Suzi Suzuki into Grange for a service.  After that G and I caught the 9.18 train to Lancaster.  Perfectly on time but very busy because it was the service to Manchester Airport.  Still we got seats no problem.  We were just behind a large family who were somewhat loud, no problems just a bit loud when you're not used to it.  The only thing that annoyed me a little was one of the girls sat with her feet up on the table, right next to her Mum who didn't tell her to take them off!!!!!  Now I would never have dared to do that with my Mum or Dad.  Still no matter it's only a short journey

We started of with a coffee in Lewis's, I was trying to find a cafe called Holm but failed miserably!!!  After that we went into Lancaster City Museum.  Have been past it numerous times but never been inside before.  It was actually a pleasant museumand it was good to see a few people in there, some with children, learning all about their history.  I loved the section dedicate to local history, including during Roman and Celtic times, which I loved.  The museum is also home to the Kings Own Royal Regiment museum and is interesting, especially if you like miltaria.  

The only problem is they have no facilities so I had to go and find some in Marketgate - which wasn't that easy when you don't know where they are!!!!

We spent a good couple of hours in there because we need to take these things slowly for G.  

We then went up to Lancaster Castle (an old Prison where my brother worked before it closed down) and into Atkinson's for a lovely sandwich.  It was difficult to get a good photo of the impressive frontage of the Castle because of scaffolding and tarpaulin over part of it - but I've managed to get a couple and one of the City Museum (see extras), not sure which one was best  Most people were sat outside but I find it much cooler inside.  We then went up to Lancaster Priory, I have been before but G hadn't and it was so quiet and cool in there.  Met a couple of very lovely volunteers who were very helpful.  Then just had a short walk to the station to catch the 13:18 train back.   

Then back home to picking up the Suzi Suzuki and being advised that the fencing people are going to come to put in our new fences and gates tomorrow morning at 8.00 - eeekk!  No worries I don't have to be here.

That's all for today - do take care and stay safe .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.