MikeWest

By MikeWest

Dambusters

A pair of barn swallow were flying up and down the opening of the inlet into the main lake. They flew fast and low, mouths open hunting insects, a bit like Tom Cruise, or Star Wars, or the Dambusters.

I fiddled with my auto focus settings, which is something I've avoided up until now, trying different strategies to get a decent shot. Not suitable conditions, in low light, as evidenced by the stop and a half adjustment in post.

Eventually I managed a shot showing their distinctive tail feathers with white spots. I did get one shot last year, but have not knowingly seen one since.

I read that according to legend, the Barn Swallow got its forked tail because it stole fire from the gods to bring to people. An angry deity hurled a firebrand at the swallow, singeing away its middle tail feathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.