Snapshots of my world

By yeeeeed

Mont Ventoux!

I can't quite believe I'm saying this but today I cycled from Bédoin up Mont Ventoux!!!

I have to admit it doesn't quite feel real. It's one of those climbs that is well known in the world of cycling, so it felt an honour to be able to ride the roads that some of the greats have been on.

The route from Bédoin takes you through some little hamlets before entering the forest...where you stay for quite some time. I loved saying hello to fellow cyclists and spinning round the occasional switchback in the road.

Once you emerge from the forest you see Chalet Reynard, which is a former mountain refuge turned cafe...and then the lunar like landscape takes hold. The yellow and black poles are mind boggling!

You also pass the memorial for Tom Simpson where it is traditional to leave a bottle or something small. On the way down I stopped to leave a small Tour de Yorkshire flag which you can see on my photo.

The views from the top were just breathtaking, and then it was a case of almost freewheeling the entire way down.

I did it!! :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.