LIFE!!!

By greengirl

Corrie Burn

Today was Goat Fell Day.

I had decided to go up from Corrie, which meant taking two buses but the reward was a quieter and much prettier route than the one from Brodick. It also reminded me of the happy summers we spent in Corrie when the children were young.

The route goes up the Corrie Burn and crosses it where I took this photo. I stopped for a drink and could have stayed for hours, just enjoying the sound of the water and the view over the sea to Ayrshire and beyond.

The summit of Goat Fell wasn’t too busy as most folk were already coming down by the time I reached it. The views were superb. I talked to quite a few people and was struck by how many people were challenging themselves to do the climb. One lady in particular, moving slowly and with two poles, told me that she had a fear of heights and doubted that she would reach the top, but she did, and was so pleased and proud.

Last night on BBC Alba there was a very short film about the Holy Island retreat, which you can watch here: (it’s in Gaelic btw) www.twitter.com/bbcnaidheachdan/status/1688629496172224512?s=48&t=8GfqotCdgEuak8cj07c9xA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.