Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Methona Confusa (Giant Glasswing)

Sunshine always makes the butterflies in the glasshouse a bit more active and today was no exception. Lots of visitors and lots of happy faces makes volunteering here all worthwhile.
We have a few newly hatched butterflies including this glasswing. I've not seen one of these before so it was great to see. Sadly it would not come down from the netting so is not looking it's best in my opinion. 
The mystery caterpillar is I'm afraid, still a bit of a mystery, but I've now convinced myself that it is a Julia Longwing, so will be looking out for more upon return from my holiday as I know we have multiple pupae around in the foliage. There are already a couple of new Julias around today, so I think I might be right :) 


Reminder of the blipmeet at the Butterfly House - 10.30am on Thursday 24th August. Everyone welcome. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.