Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Hairy Shield Bug

This morning, after spending ages taking up some new trousers for my Mum, we went out for a little wander at Pickering's Pasture. The sun was in and out and I was hopeful of some dragons or butterflies. Again we saw a couple of dragonflies, but I'm not patient enough to wait for them to land so we gave up and moved on. There were a few whites fluttering about, one Common Blue and a couple of Meadow Browns that wouldn't land anywhere close.  Hubby spotted this Hairy Shield bug on a little sapling and then we saw a few more, so it gets to shine in todays blip. 
They are sometimes called Sloe bugs on account of them often been found around blackthorns where they feast upon the fruits called sloes. 

A sad state of affairs at the viewing screen, where some vandals have flattened one of the panels, completely ruining the area. I don't understand what possesses people to just wilfully damage something like that.  I hope that it can be fixed easily as I, and many others I'm sure, quite like to sit there and watch the pool at high tide. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.