This is the day

By wrencottage

Blue Sky Thinking

When I came downstairs first thing this morning, having sneezed repeatedly shortly after getting up, I was greeted by the most autumnal looking garden I’ve ever seen, this early in August. The lawn was covered for the first time since last winter with large patches of dense dew, there were cobwebs glinting in the sunlight, the rose bushes were covered with their second flush of blooms and the cloudy dampness of the past few weeks had morphed into blue skies. It is exactly the kind of weather (and sneezing!) that I associate with the beginning of September, when the children are obliged to go back to school on bright sunny days wearing thick school blazers, after enduring six weeks of typical British chilly and wet summer holiday weather.

There was no time for photography today; I walked up to mid-week communion this morning, armed with one of the boxes of biscuits I blipped yesterday, and since my return I’ve done lots of preparation for a visit from #1 son and his partner tomorrow. Then we had visit from the littlies again this afternoon for yet another reprise of board games. 

So, grabbing my long lens, I popped out into the garden in the late evening sunshine to attempt to find a suitable shot. I decided that the cloudless sky was worth recording, so here it is. I could have blipped one of the photos I took of the many planes that were circling overhead, presumably stacking over London waiting for a spot at Heathrow, or of the unknown tabby cat which was prowling along the garden path and scowled at me as I aimed the camera at him. I decided, in the end, that I liked the chimney pots best, with their crown-like tops, so that’s what you got.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.