Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dragons

I decided to take myself out to a favorite spot for dragons and insects this morning. It was far breezier than what I would usually prefer for insects so my keeper rate was lower, but I did manage to get some shots in between wind gusts, including this oner of a male Calico Pennant.  One of my favorite dragons because they are just such vibrant colors. And they hunt from a perch, darting out to grab something and then returning to the same or nearby perch - makes photographing them much easier,  In Extra you can see a Halloween Pennant, another favorite.  

While I was out wandering, Mama and the cubs visited again, this time giving Hubs an excellent view from his office.  She is definitely out and about more during the daylight hours now.  Which makes dog walking more of a challenge.

I have gathered some more monarch eggs from my garden and now have a good sized nursery effort underway.  The caterpillars are all still very tiny so not eating much, but soon I will be snipping milkweed to feed hungry cats.  

Dark with ginger again today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.