Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red Head

Well, actually a red-headed bush cricket, or Handsome Trig, in the family Trigonidiidae (ground crickets).  I believe this is a final nymph stage which lacks the red head of the adults.  The eye color of the adults is also red whereas this little guy/gal has almost bluish eyes.  I saw a couple of them in the black-eyed Susan patch, darting in among the petals and leaves.  This one hopped down from his perch a fraction of a second after I got this shot.  

I also had some fun with the z8 and hummers in the garden.  The camera is so well suited to fast moving hummingbirds and it's loads of fun trying to follow their crazy flights.  

Last night while we were having dinner, we spotted Mama and the four cubs walking across our front yard.  Unfortunately, Jax also spotted them and kicked into full throttle barking at maximum volume.  I ran for a camera but Mama and the cubs took off into the woods between our house and the neighbor's before I could get back to the window.  Honestly, the cubs are really cute - one of them was standing up on its little hind legs looking at the house when Jax started barking.  I expect I will eventually get pictures.  And in the meantime, Hubs and I are thinking about the practicality of getting a fence for part of our back yard.  Not that a fence is any deterrent for a bear, but at least we would not have to worry about Jax chasing a bear into the woods.  We'll see.  

My garden is so full of color right now - I could spend hours pottering around in the blooms looking for critters.  Come to think of it, I DO spend hours pottering around in the blooms looking for critters!

I restocked my supply of dark today and found some with chili so I think that will be my choice for the day.  Although I also found one with rice crispies that looks interesting...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.