Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Z is for Zabulon

As in Zebulon Skipper, one of smaller grass skipper butterflies.  Also the first one I've seen in the garden this summer.  I was out early before the heat got too intense and caught this little guy warming up on some zinnia leaves.  

It's been a pretty non-productive day for me.  The heat and humidity make it pretty much unbearable to spend much time outside and I was singularly unmotivated to clean the house.  Well, okay, if I'm being honest, house cleaning has never been my strong suit.  A break mid-day for a quick follow up with my medical oncologist.  After a little more than a year of seeing her quarterly, I am now going to switch to every 4 months.  Progress on the pathway to being an official cancer survivor!

I spent some time tending my caterpillars today - I pulled a few more big ones out of the garden last night and they are all up at the top of the enclosure now spinning their silk pads and preparing for the journey to butterfly.  My nursery container has everything from eggs to fourth instars. Tomorrow I will open a second nursery container for the smaller cats so that they don't accidentally get eaten.  

Jax is having his late afternoon "play with me or else" mood so I am going to go take him out and see if we can play a little chase or maybe the hose game.  It's a good thing he's so stinking cute!

Dark with ginger today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.