Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Birds

I never know exactly what I will see in the yard during the spring and fall migration, but this species is one I can usually always count on - American Redstart, one of the wood warblers.  This is a juvenile but not sure whether male or female although the splashes of orange make me lean towards male.  In any event, it was busy chasing other birds which is typical redstart behavior.  Even though this isn't a species that would ever eat suet, it was intent on chasing off some finches that were trying to eat.  Which all came to an abrupt halt when one of the much smaller hummingbirds went after the redstart and chased it into the woods.  I also saw a juvenile scarlet tanager and the same Hairy Woodpecker I've been seeing almost daily for the last week or so.  And, of course, hummingbirds.  See image in Extra for my fave shot of the day of one of the males.

Last evening, we had Mama bear and her 4 cubs in the front yard and under our small grove of red cedars.  Jax was out of his mind and it took forever to get him to settle down.  Unfortunately, there isn't much doubt in either of our minds that he would chase a bear which could end very badly for him.  So, we are only taking him out now on leash and keeping a very watchful eye.  

Hubs went back to work today which I think is good for him.  He works from home, of course, so he hasn't actually gone anywhere, but he's on zoom calls and email and all of the work related things.  Good to keep him busy.

Our mosquito situation is brutal at the moment.  I have to douse myself before I can step foot outside and even then the bloodthirsty little things seem to find the single cm of skin that didn't get treated.  Fortunately, the itchiness doesn't last long for me, an hour or two usually.  They drive Jax crazy too and he is constantly snapping at them.  Kind of comical actually. 

I dipped into some dark with dried cherries today, one of my faves.  Reminder to myself that I want to find some dark with chili this week.

xo
Debbi

PS if you want to see my entire collection of yard birds for this year (so far) click HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.